You Are Acceptable

I want to not have to change before I like myself. I want to embrace me, to accept myself. Just as I am.

Because otherwise, I (my identity) won’t survive. I will try to please people, impress them, fit in with them, and be whatever they want me to be.

I need to be kind to myself. I want the freedom to do this. To learn how to be me. To like who I am.

Or else I’ll lose myself. To pressure, stress, worry, expectations, fear, anxiety, judgements, opinions, failures, mistakes, self-hatred, and standards I can never meet.

I’m learning that I have higher standards than God and he is more accepting than I am. When he says he loves and accepts me just as I am, I say I won’t accept myself until I change and maybe then I’ll love myself.

I want to be able to say to myself:

You have permission to like yourself. You have permission not to be liked by others. You are still here. You are still you. And you are acceptable. YOU. Not the you that you think you should be. Not the you that you could be in the future. But you, just as you are right now.

What do you want to be able to say to yourself?

11 thoughts on “You Are Acceptable

  1. We spend our lives navigating our way back to our true selves and setting them free. 🙂 You’re doing great! Have fun on your journey as well!

    As for me, I wanna be able to tell myself that: “You’re enough. You don’t have to prove anything to anyone – ever. Nothing can make you less or more than who you essentially are.”

    Like

  2. I read this and I can definitely relate. You just keep reminding yourself over and over that you are acceptable. I have inspirational words posted all throughout my house so that I am constantly reminded. Do whatever you must to keep reminding yourself of your true worth!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

