What would you do if you had unlimited time and money?

Last month I went to a youth conference and this question was posed during one of the sessions:

What 5 things would you do if you had unlimited time and unlimited money?

It was a question to help us dream bigger. At the end of the session we were given a pencil, a piece of paper, and some time to dream and write down 5 things.

Normally, I’d have trouble narrowing my list to 5 things, but I struggled to come up with a single thing. A week later and I was still looking at a blank piece of paper.

Looking for inspiration, I posted the question on Facebook. One person replied by giving me this advice: If you had no inner voices whispering you could or should not….what would be possible?

It took me another two weeks to quieten the inner (and outer) voices because they weren’t whispering but shouting that I wasn’t allowed to want what I wanted.

Then finally I heard this come up from inside me: I would study every course I want to learn about.

I realized, if I’m going to embrace myself, I need to embrace the fact that I love to learn and not be ashamed to tell people.

Now that the voices were quiet and I was embracing myself, my list came out easily:

  1. I would study every course I want to learn about.
  2. I would travel to every place I want to go.
  3. I would create everything I want to create.
  4. I would support every charity and cause I believe in.
  5. I would help people tick off the things on their lists.

So I guess the next questions I need to ask are:

  1. What do I want to learn about?
  2. Where do I want to go?
  3. What do I want to create?
  4. What do I believe in?
  5. How can I help people?

What’s on your list?

11 thoughts on “What would you do if you had unlimited time and money?

  1. My favourite question you ask here is ‘what would you want to create?’ – I think I would want to create a piece of work that was truly honest and showed how I viewed the world. I’d probably want to do this through some kind of painting, but may take far to much patience and creativity for me to ever get round to making.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoy inspiring, thought-provoking questions and this is definitely one of those. The question that was posed to you at the youth conference truly reminds me of the idea of a bucket list. It’s funny to me because the older I get, the harder it seems to dream bigger. I have a bucket list of hundreds of ideas that I made when I was just a kid, but now it seems that my ideas have to be realistic and attainable. That’s why I really like the inspiration piece of your blog post that highlighted the idea of getting rid of the inner voice that whispers why or why not. Nonetheless, this really got me thinking, so I thank you for that. If I had unlimited time and unlimited money, I think a lot of my aspirations would be very similar to yours but if I went into greater details, I know that the first thing that comes to my mind is to write a book, even one of simple short stories. I suppose this is because the factor that usually stands in my way is not having enough time but it would also be helpful to have money in order to publish the book while also getting it in the right hands. Other than that, I agree with your aspirations such as donating to charity, travelling the world, learning lots of new skills and especially the idea of helping others attain their goals and dreams!

    Like

    1. Thank you so much for this wonderful comment. I LOVE thought-provoking questions too. And I love bucket lists and any type of list. Glad it got you thinking and love your thoughts. Thanks for sharing them. It’s so interesting.
      I definitely will write another post that goes into further detail. That’s so great you want to write a book. What would it be about? You can definitely do it. So I’ll encourage you to tick that one of your list. I’m working on my third book at the moment with the aim to write one book a year.

      Like

  3. I love your list because it’s not so general and not so specific as well! There’s a lot of room to be spontaneous and explore. I also love your follow up questions! They’re good entry way to squeeze out ideas that could lead to concrete goals. Very meaty! 😀

    My list would be similar to yours! Art, travel, healing myself and helping others heal, loving, meditating.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Juni Desireé

Leave a Reply

