What Are Your Personal Principles?

My Personal PrinciplesOne of my favourite ideas from The Happiness Project by Gretchen Rubin is the 12 Personal Commandments.

As soon as I read Gretchen’s list, I was excited to come up with my own principles to help guide my decisions, actions, and perspectives.

This exercise showed me some of my core values that I want to live by. Each principle is something I’ve always struggled to do, so reading this list regularly helps me align my behaviour with my values.

Here are my 12 Personal Principles:

  1. Be yourself
  2. Be honest
  3. Don’t punish yourself
  4. Step into scary
  5. Fail
  6. Speak up
  7. Remember gratitude
  8. Accept reality
  9. Live now
  10. Say no to distractions
  11. Love with each step
  12. Don’t hold back

Check out Gretchen’s list: Personal Commandments.

What are your principles?

18 thoughts on “What Are Your Personal Principles?

  1. It’s definitely good to have principles. Off the top of my head some of mine are: Trust in God, live in peace, try to find joy in life, and be thankful for something each day. Of course, those are almost like goals that are hard to do all the time.

    Like

  2. I loved The Happiness Project! It was such a great book. Thanks for reminding me of it. Perhaps it’s time for a re-read? Wonderful positive post! Thank you.

    Like

    1. I love it too! I read it for the second time just recently and think I got more out of it the second time round. I’m working on my own version of the project to start next year. At the moment it’s called the Discovery Project.

      Like

  3. Greetings all the way from South Africa JD,

    Absolutely loved this post. I’ve always had these, except I called them ‘The Moral Code’.

    Here’s mine:

    1. Live for the moment.
    2. Give without expecting anything in return.
    3. Be kind.
    4. Breathe.
    5. Be yourself.
    6. Respect!
    7. Refrain from entertaining negative people.
    8. Learn to adapt.
    9. Speak your mind.
    10. Be open minded.
    11. Do not judge.
    12. Remember to these words: Thank you and I’m sorry.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

