Art: Through the Washing Machine

Through the Washing Machine – We don’t have to do things the way they’ve always been done

November 2014, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

A few years ago it felt like I was in a washing machine. I was being turned around upside-down and inside-out because the way I thought and the way I saw things completely changed.

It was a Cultural Anthropology class that started it. It opened my eyes to my ethnocentricism where I subconsciously believed my culture was superior to other cultures. I became aware of this when our lecturer asked us why we sit at a table and eat with a knife and fork. I’d never questioned this before and didn’t know I could question it. I just assumed it was the way right way people should eat.

But then our lecturer talked about how eating with chopsticks or with fingers while sitting on the floor is an equally valid way of eating a meal. As soon as he said this, I saw how arrogant I was about Western culture. It showed me that just because we do things a certain way doesn’t mean it’s better way than any other way.

I was raised by Western culture and accepted it without question. Now I was left not knowing what to think and started questioning everything. Why do I believe what I believe? Is it because I was taught to believe it? Why do I do what I do? Is it because that’s the way it’s always been done? Why do I want what I want? Is it because everyone else wants it?

My world expanded as if the walls of the room I’d been living in were disappearing. And it felt like everything I’d been built up on was being torn down. I wanted to unlearn everything so I could find out how to live Kingdom culture.

4 thoughts on “Art: Through the Washing Machine

  1. I really like this. It actually excites me when people provoke my thoughts in this way and I start to wonder why people do things the way they do, or think the way they think. A philosophy course really made me think about and question religion in this way. Very interesting!

    Like

    1. Me too!!! I absolutely love it when someone can get me thinking. It’s one of my favourite things. I always wonder why people are the way they are , why they think the way they do, etc. It’s so fascinating. Love philosophy! I found this anthropology class made me question culture, Christianity, life, everything. Was an interesting time!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Yes exactly 🙂 and that does sound very interesting! The philosophy class that I took definitely caused me to do the same. I wonder how it would change the world if more people thought about these things..

        Like

Leave a Reply

