Art: Let the inside out

Five Ways of Saying the Same Thing – Let the inside out
Five Ways of Saying the Same Thing – Let the inside out

11th December 2014, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

This picture says the same thing five different ways:

  1. Closed book – Some people are open books. If I were a book, I’d be a closed book with a chain wrapped around me and a lock without a key. But we are all books with stories that are meant to be read. I want to open my book and let the inside out.
  2. Brick wall – I hide behind walls. I put up barriers to protect myself from being seen and getting hurt. But I want to connect deeply with people and be vulnerable. I want to knock the walls down and let the inside out.
  3. Tape over the mouth – I hide behind silence. When I keep quiet, the world inside me is hidden and people might not know it exists. I want to speak up and let the inside out.
  4. Shell paradox – I always thought I’d be happy to never tell people how I really thought and felt. I didn’t think people would understand or care, so I kept everything to myself. But I’ve learnt that when you keep everything inside, you end up becoming a shell. I want to share who I am and let the inside out.
  5. Bottle – I was okay with bottling everything inside. But that robs the world of what I have to offer. Everything God has given us is a gift for others, so we shouldn’t keep it bottled up. Our stories, experiences, lessons, wisdom, talents, personality, and perspectives can give good things to others. I want to give what I have and let the inside out.
One thought on “Art: Let the inside out

Leave a Reply

