Art: Tribute to my favourite song

Tribute to My Favourite Song – When a song gives you hope
Tribute to My Favourite Song – When a song gives you hope

15th December 2014, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

When I was in year nine, ‘If I Am’ by Nine Days was my favourite song. It’s been my all-time favourite song ever since. It felt like it was written for me, and I’m thankful someone took the time to write it and share it with the world. It’s a song that tells my story in a metaphorical way.

I grew up going to school fearing that my friends wouldn’t be my friends anymore. I thought they didn’t really like me or they would eventually not like me. I thought if they really knew me, they’d leave me and I’d be alone. I struggled to trust that people meant what they said and I feared if I believed them, I’d be let down.

This song gave me hope that there are people who mean what they say, people who understand my fear but who also want to be given more credit.

4 thoughts on “Art: Tribute to my favourite song

  1. When I went to school, people thought I was invisible. They would talk around me as though I wasn’t there. They would share secrets as if there was no one else to reveal them. Yet, they never included me in the conversation. I felt very alone and isolated in school. Maybe that’s why I turned to writing. It was a way to express who “Me” was. Like the tiny Who’s in Horton Hears a Who, I could say, “I am here.”

    Like

    1. Wow, when I went to school, I wanted to be invisible. I thought I could avoid the teasing if they couldn’t see me, and I always felt like I didn’t belong. So I can definitely relate. And I think I may have turned to writing for the same reason. My journal always listened to me and never rejected me. It was how I validated myself and said I was here, as well. Wow, love that you understand that. And I’ve been learning that I can be me in the world and not just on the page. And we aren’t made to be invisible. Love it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

