Why do you love writing and blogging?

I just had the most amazing conversation about writing with a fellow writer.

We talked about how writing helps us deal with issues, quietens our minds, know ourselves better, and connect with others. Writing is the most amazing tool! It gives both the writer and the reader so much.

I talked about how blogging has been such a big part of my writing journey. With my trail of 50 deleted blogs, each blog helps me find my voice and what I want to write.

I think of my most successful blog in terms of engagement where I tried being controversial. It was fun having so much interaction but I didn’t feel like me. It taught me that I’d rather be me and have no-one read my work than be someone else and have everyone comment on my work.

I think of the anonymous blog I had where I first wrote honestly. I found that people didn’t judge and people supported me. It gave me so much freedom as a writer and as a person.

I think of all my blogs where people told me I was a good writer and they could relate to my writing. I think of the encouraging words and especially the times when people said my writing impacted them.

Finding this blogging community gave me confidence in my writing and courage to share it with my name. I love having writer friends and feedback. I love knowing I’m not alone. It’s so comforting and exciting knowing others understand what writing can do, and the struggle and elation it can bring.

I’m in awe of writing and I’m so thankful for blogging. What a gift! I love that we can express ourselves and connect with each other through writing and blogging.

If you’d like to connect and chat about writing and our journeys, feel free to email me: wordslikesilk@gmail.com

Seriously, these type of chats have me jumping out of my skin, I’m that excited!

17 thoughts on “Why do you love writing and blogging?

  1. I don’t know what the secret of your success is, but you seem to have a real knack at blogging. No matter how hard I try, I can’t seem to get the readers you do for my blog. But I think it is still fun to blog, even if only a handful of people are paying attention. Sometimes you just have to write for yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think there are a few tips that help. I think anyone get readers if they do certain things. So even though my focus is on being me, I can still put in place a few things that help get readers while still being me. I definitely think blogging is fun, too. Just for the writing, it’s awesome. But I have to say the interaction and connections do make it super fun as well. E.g. I absolutely love that we’ve connected and I so appreciate all your comments. How long have you been blogging for?

      Like

  2. I love blogging because it helps me sort out my thoughts. One specific instance I was feeling an odd way and couldn’t put my finger on it. I wrote and deleted and wrote and deleted until it just clicked both for a post and what I was feeling. I love being able to working things out like that.

    Like

    1. I love that too! Writing is amazing how it can show us things. It’s such a discipline to do it sometimes but the rewards are great. Thanks so much for sharing. Do you ever journal as well, or just blog?

      Like

      1. I love your raw confessions that truly sparkle something in me every time.Being such open and vulnerable with our struggles and inner thoughts or feelings is a tough and risky job,especially since it is difficult to anticipate the world’s reactions,the levels of acceptance you will get upon our posts.Regardless anything,I love writing whatever is coming from my soul and I am glad I found an inspiration like you to keep going.

        Like

        1. Awesome, love it. I love raw confessions too and just being real and honest about who we are. I find it really helpful when other people do this and it definitely inspires me to do the same.

          Like

  3. I love writing because it is a way to express myself. I love blogging because it is a way of sharing myself. We are more free when we have ways to express and share our person.

    Like

  4. I agree with all that you wrote in this article. In the past few weeks I have come to realize how much my blog and writing means to me. I have only been doing it a few times a month since January. I am still very new and inexperienced at it but it has already affected me so much.

    I love how it makes me feel: free, creative, helpful and even like I could impact peoples lives. I love being able to say what I feel and having a chance of others gaining meaning from it or just wishing to connect.

    I would love one day to achieve what you have and touch so many lives as I see you doing, Juni. Its become a dream of mine. It gives me anxiety but I’ve also never felt so excited. 🙂

    Like

      1. It gives me anxiety for a few different reasons. I’m anxious I won’t post often enough and will lose followers, I’m anxious I will try to post more because of this and then my writing won’t be as good, I’m anxious I will go blank and not be able to write. I am anxious I won’t be able to figure out what I all want to say, and if I do, that I won’t know how to say it. I’m anxious because I don’t know how to get my blog out there for people to find. I guess overall I am just anxious to crash and burn.

        Like

        1. Yep, I can relate to that. I always called it ‘pressure’ and it made blogging not fun. So I ended up taking a month off blogging to reassess why I wrote. I wrote for my eyes only and remembered that I write what I need to write. I write for me, to be me. So when I realised this, I started this blog with the intention of simply posting my journal entries and not caring if anyone read my writing. It’s the only way I can be happy with what I write. Hope that helps a bit. I’m still learning, but that’s what I’ve worked out for now.

          Like

        2. Thank you Juni that is so helpful to me! I have been wanting to write journal type entry’s, but I suppose felt nervous that people may not want to read that. But you are right – it would make me happy so I should just do it.

          That’s why I like to have the different categories on my blog. I wanted my “reflections” to be more like journal entries, and the other categories are self-explanatory. I am not sure if people use them though or just scroll down the main page..

          Like

        3. Oh good, I’m glad. It took me ages to work out, but yeah, I just go with as long as I’m happy with what I wrote, I don’t care who reads it, even if it’s no-one. And I tend to play around still with different types of posts as well too. So not all my posts are journal style. I love lists and goals and that kind of thing, and random thoughts, so it makes if fun for me. I don’t tend to use the categories. I just scroll.

          Like

Leave a Reply

