Art: I Don’t Know Anything

I Don’t Know Anything – You’re fancy titles don’t mean anything to me so why do they make me feel so small?
I Don’t Know Anything – You’re fancy titles don’t mean anything to me so why do they make me feel so small?

26th December 2014, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

Sometimes it feels like people show off their titles and society expects me to be like them. It’s as if I’m not as important as other people if I don’t have titles. I feel inferior and looked down on, where everyone else is someone and I’m no-one because I haven’t seen more of the world, or I don’t dress up, or I don’t work full-time.

Sometimes it feels like everyone is claiming their titles and they look at me and ask, ‘So what are your titles?’ My response: ‘I don’t know.’ Part of me feels bad about this. But another part of me wants to say, ‘I don’t care.’ I can chase titles but I don’t want them if they’ll trick me into thinking they make me someone.

I have to remember I am no better than anyone just because I have a degree, live in a great country, or own a car. I have to remember I’m not less than anyone just because I’m not married, or a parent, or a homeowner.

My worth does not depend on my relationships, appearance, personality, job, status, popularity, or achievements. It doesn’t depend on where I live, what I have, or how people see me.

Part of me wants to rebel against society’s standards and deliberately not have any titles so that I can let everyone know: ‘I’m still someone!’

2 thoughts on “Art: I Don’t Know Anything

Leave a Reply

