Art: I’m a Freak

I’m a Freak – The correct response to I’m a freak
I’m a Freak – The correct response to I’m a freak

6th February 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

When I was in year 9, a friend and I were talking about being a freak. The conclusion we came to was that if you’re not a freak, you’re a freak.

We’re all freaks simply because no two people are exactly alike and no-one will fully be able to understand another person. Everyone has something different about them, and that’s okay. In fact, I think that’s really cool. It’s only when people make you feel bad for your differences that it isn’t fun.

The correct response to ‘I’m a freak’ is not: ‘No you’re not.’ I want you to see that I’m a freak.

The correct response to ‘I’m a freak’ is not: ‘Get away from me, freak,’ or ‘Come here, freak, so I can tease you.’ I don’t want to be treated differently because I’m a freak.

The correct response to ‘I’m a freak’ is: ‘So am I.’ I like finding common ground.

The even better response to ‘I’m a freak’ is: ‘I like your freakishness.’ Embrace the freak.

2 thoughts on “Art: I’m a Freak

Leave a Reply

