Art: Beneath the Surface

Beneath the Surface – There is more going on underneath than people see
Beneath the Surface – There is more going on underneath than people see

24th July 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

People sometimes tell me they want to be more like me because of my peaceful nature. But all I can think is: you have no idea about the war going on inside. On the surface I can appear cool, calm and collected, but underneath I can be going through turmoil, torment and torture.

I don’t want anyone to be deceived. Just because I don’t show my frustration or panic or pain doesn’t mean I don’t feel these things. We might express ourselves differently on the outside but we experience the same things on the inside.

On the surface, it might also look like I’m simple. I don’t say much but that doesn’t mean there isn’t much going on inside. It might look like I’ve got everything together and everything makes sense, but on the inside I might be lost or drowning in a complicated mess that makes no sense.

We don’t always see what’s going on inside people. People might be struggling and we have no idea. It might look sunny on the outside but there could be a storm going on the inside. This is why I always try to give grace to people and want to see things from their eyes. There is more to people than what we see. I want to see below the surface.

7 thoughts on “Art: Beneath the Surface

Leave a Reply

