Art: Listen to your life

Listen to Your Life – Do what makes your heart go zing
Listen to Your Life – Do what makes your heart go zing

1st August 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

This picture is what I see when I look back on my life. They are all the things that make my heart go zing. It was inspired by an insight I got from Jeff Goins and his book The Art of Work.

I grew up reading, writing and drawing but I thought these were just hobbies. When I was 8 I wanted to be a zoologist and my dream was to work with animals. So I studied science at uni and majored in zoology. It was only when I held my certificate that I realised I didn’t want to be a zoologist anymore and I didn’t have a dream.

I went on a journey and saw that my heart was with writing and creating all along. When I looked back on my life, I saw all my dream jobs were creative ones: ballerina, singer, musician, actress, dancer, artist. Most of all, my secret dream job was to be a writer. But I dismissed all these dreams because I grew up thinking that the creative jobs weren’t real jobs. So I chose science because I thought it was more respectable and responsible.

I don’t regret studying science because I had a blast at uni, but I didn’t watch animal documentaries like my uni friends and I never make the effort to volunteer at a zoo. Instead, I was writing stories, buying books about writing, and taking a literature subject as one of my electives.

Jeff suggests that our life is telling us what we’re made to do; we just have to listen. When I looked back on my life I saw how my favourite subject at school was English, my favourite assignments were essays, and I wrote stories in my spare time. My life was telling me I was made to write. Now I’m listening to my life and doing the things that make me come alive.

Leave a Reply

