Art: Welcome to My World

Welcome to My World – Introvert reality: Mouth is silent; mind never shuts up
Welcome to My World – Introvert reality: Mouth is silent; mind never shuts up

20th August 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

This drawing was inspired by a cartoon picture of what it’s like to be an introvert. There’s just a white background with two people. The person on the right has a crazy rainbow of lines shooting out of their head and off the page. The person on the left points to the crazy mess and asks, ‘What the hell is that?’ The person on the right says, ‘Oh, just my mind.’

This picture makes me smile. It makes me think: ‘That is so me!’ Someone out there knows what it’s like to have a mind that never stops thinking. There is no off button.

I love introvert art. INFJoe draws amazing pictures about being an introvert and an INFJ. I relate to so many of them. His art also inspired me to draw my first piece of introvert art.

I wish I could put all that mess in a box and give it to someone so they’d be able to understand what it’s like for me to have a million convoluted thoughts and a mind that doesn’t turn off.

I also wish I could put the mess in a box so that my thoughts could be untangled and people could actually understand them. It would be so much easier than for me to try to explain them.

I wish I could give people a box and say, ‘Here, this is me. Open if you want to know who I am.’

I wish I could open other people’s boxes, too.

Leave a Reply

