Book Update: Editing and Contents

book

All last week I was working on editing and proofreading the book tribute to motherhood.

I printed it, went through it with a blue pen, then made the changes in the Word document. Mostly typos and formatting errors.

Now that I know what I’m working with, I’m up to ordering the entries and compiling the Contents page. A big task with about 105 entries.

I tried to work something out on my laptop by colour coding the entries (pink for mothers’ perspectives, blue for children’s perspectives, yellow for interviews) but it didn’t work so great.

So tonight I’m going to print the book again but in small font. Then I’m going to cut out each entry and organise them on a flat surface. Not sure if it will work but giving it a go.

Will let you know how it goes.

book 002

6 thoughts on “Book Update: Editing and Contents

  1. As much as I love the virtual online world, cutting apart and physically re-ordering a book sounds like a complete blast! If we lived on the same continent I’d beg to come help you out 😉 Put on some joyful music and have fun! God bless 🙂

    Like

  2. Editing can be tough and time consuming, but so necessary and rewarding when working on a book. I’ve recently self-published my first Young-Adult novel UNITED FIVE, which I’ve worked on for nearly 3 years. I spent more time editing the book than writing it, but at the end it’s worth it. I wish you the best of luck on your own path!!

    Like

    1. Absolutely, so exhausting and boring some times. Hard work to get through. The writing part is definitely much more fun. But I guess it’s good to something to edit, at least. That’s awesome, go you!! Isn’t it the coolest feeling. Thanks heaps!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. It’s extremely exhausting! And it’s definitely when you usually feel like your work is horrible, but you have to go through it! Thank you! Yeah, it’s an awesome sensation and scary at the same time to know that your work is out there!!

        Like

        1. You can get so sick of the book can’t you? I know what it’s like to not want to read it for a very long time – hehe. But it’s such a cool journey. A test in perseverance and vision and so many other things.

          Like

Leave a Reply

