Art: The Right to Feel Pain

Right to Feel Pain
The Right to Feel Pain – Pain is part of reality. Carry it. Don’t let it destroy you.

25th October 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A4 cartridge paper

I read this amazing quote by Jim Morrison about pain. It was like reading a quote written about me, and it came at a time when I needed to read it.

I’m afraid of myself, my reality, and especially my feelings. Feelings can hurt; they can be disturbing. I can be afraid of pain, but I’m learning I don’t need to be. Pain is just a part of life, a part of reality.

I spend a lot of my time trying to avoid pain and trying to not show my pain. But what I really need to do is feel it and deal with it. Pain doesn’t make me unacceptable. Pain doesn’t make me a bad person. Pain doesn’t make me wrong.

Instead, pain opens my eyes. It can show me my strength, what I’m made of. I am bigger than my pain. Pain is just a feeling. Feelings are part of me, part of my own reality. I don’t have to be ashamed of them. I don’t have to destroy my reality by not feeling pain.

Jim Morrison’s quote inspires me to carry my pain and express it instead of deny it and hide it. He lets me know that I have a right to feel pain. I. I can use it to create instead of let it destroy me.

12 thoughts on “Art: The Right to Feel Pain

  1. I have spent my life avoiding pain and denying it but then I came across John Green’s quote “That’s the thing about pain- it demands to be felt” and things changed for me.
    Nicely written 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like that. I also think you won’t know how strong you are until the things you rely on for strength are gone. I relied on perfection, performance, and pain-free life. I just didn’t know I relied on them that much, so it was a good lesson to learn.

      Like

    1. Thank you for reading – hehe! I don’t think I would have understood that quote before this year, but when I read it, it was so timely and spoke to me at a time when I needed to hear it. Love it!

      Like

  2. I once read to a book saying, Its okay to experience different kind of emotions. Because you wouldn’t appreciate that much the positive emotions of you wouldn’t experience the negative ones. 🙂 There’s a lot of things Pain can bring to us. Choose the one that leads you to become a better individual. 🙂

    Like

  3. A great post demystifying pain! We all feel it. And we all hide it forgetting that. I’m not sure why but the strive to be perfect or at least look like that contributes a lot. Pain is just another feeling and like all other feelings longs to be expressed in a healthy way. But it takes more courage to do it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

