Art: Puppet on a String

Puppet on a String
Puppet on a String – Cutting the strings is scary but I need to find my own feet

25th October 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A4 cartridge paper

Sometimes I feel like a puppet on a string. I get pulled in all directions trying to please everyone and live up to expectations. I let myself be manipulated and don’t feel like an active agent in life as I contort into whatever shape I’m pulled into. Sometimes I feel like I’m being pulled apart. It feels like I’m breaking. It hurts.

I don’t want to be a puppet on a string anymore. I need to learn my identity doesn’t depend on all those strings that hold me up. My identity doesn’t come from opinions, the social norm, or outside voices.

I need to find out who I am without the strings. I need to know that when those strings are gone, I won’t drown but I’ll find my own feet.

10 thoughts on “Art: Puppet on a String

  1. I believe we will always feel like puppets on a string because life changes every day and we continuously go through our wanted lessons, even when we feel we have learned it already. It’s ok to feel like that puppet as long as we don’t allow ourselves to become that puppet. Continue your search and discovery, there may be new discoveries or repetition in every new day =)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I sort of think that’s more like being on an endless spiral staircase. But being a puppet for me more feels like being manipulated. I don’t think manipulation is ever a good thing and at the moment I’m trying to learn that I don’t need to be manipulated – to not be manipulated or manipulate others. Just trying to be honest, I guess, instead of manipulated and manipulative.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I find that when we think or feel that we are being manipulated, we become angry and negative, that is why I prefer to accept being a puppet and enjoy all the experiences that come my way. Without the anger or negative feeling, I am able to enjoy all hardships that come my way. Thank you for your honest response =)

        Like

        1. Thanks so much for your honest response too. Love all the different perspectives. I think I become very passive and ghost-like when I feel manipulated and I tend to think it’s better if I don’t do anything and if I wasn’t here. So I guess at the moment I’m finding a way to be more here, be more myself, and be more courageous to act.

          Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

