Art: Open Eyes

Open Eyes – God is still on the throne
Open Eyes – God is still on the throne

28th November 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A4 cartridge paper

When I was struggling with the world’s pain, I had a very doom and gloom perspective. All I saw was the injustice, brokenness, and suffering around me. I felt the world’s pain as my own and was overwhelmed. I wanted to get out of this world and just go to heaven. Then two things helped change my perspective.

First, I went to a youth conference and one of the speakers talked about how even though the world is messed up and things are crazy, God is still on the throne. Corrupt leaders and cruel people aren’t on the throne. Injustice and suffering aren’t on the throne. Poverty and war aren’t on the throne.

It might look like pain is on the throne, but the speaker reminded me that God is still on the throne. He’s in control. He’s fixing things. He’s making things right.

Second, sometime after the conference I was listening to the radio. The speaker talked about how when Adam and Eve betrayed God, their eyes were opened to the world and closed to heaven. This summed up how I was feeling. All I saw was the bad in the world and heaven seemed like it didn’t exist. I lost sight of heaven but it’s heaven I can’t ever lose sight of.

Heaven is my hope. Heaven on earth. So instead of wanting God to take me out of the world, I remembered that I’m here to help bring heaven to earth.

One thought on “Art: Open Eyes

Leave a Reply

