Art: Path Made Straight

Path Made Straight – God is making the path straight
Path Made Straight – God is making the path straight

3rd December 2015, Prismacolor pencils on A4 cartridge paper

During a church service in the park, we looked at John the Baptist and how the path is being made straight. At the moment, our lives are like paths that have tears, heartache, and brokenness along the way. The Good News is that God is making the path straight and one day there will be no more tears, heartache, or brokenness.

Before the service, I helped make a maze out of garbage-bag sheets. We laid the sheets down to create a path with lots of corners, dead ends, and twists. Then kids were invited to find their way through the maze and we would help them walk through it.

After the service, everyone was invited to go to the maze, pick up a garbage bag sheet and turn the crooked path into a long straight one.

When I went over to the maze, I had this moment where it felt like everything faded away and it was just me and God in the park. I thought about my life and how messed up it was and how it wasn’t the way it should be. As I picked up a sheet, I thought to myself: ‘How is this (my life) ever going to be made straight?’ Then by physically laying the sheet down in a straight line I saw in a tangible way that one day my path will be made straight.

Laying those sheets down was so symbolic for me. It reminded me that even the most twisted path is being made straight. God is making every path straight. The world’s path is being made straight.

2 thoughts on “Art: Path Made Straight

  1. I love how art is an outlet for all the big questions and your emotions. It works a lot like catharsis. Writing is like that, too. The pain spills out in a productive way instead of in a way that hurts others.

    Like

Leave a Reply

