Art: Fierce Love

Fierce Love
Fierce Love – God’s love roars like a lion

7th March 2016, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

I went through a stage when I cried a lot and felt like a walking teardrop. I looked at my bookshelf for a book to read to give me comfort. I chose Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.

I was drawn to it because I wanted to read the words of someone who would understand why I felt like a teardrop. Liz not only understood; she gave me words to explain what I was going through and a path to heal from it.

Liz lost herself to her partners. I lost myself to my duties until I didn’t know who I was anymore. She showed me that I became a teardrop because I had an identity crisis. It felt like a shattering of self.

Then Liz showed me that love changes everything. I realised that God’s love for me is fierce. It roars like a lion. It’s what I needed to hear. And I heard it when Liz went to an ashram in India. It’s stronger than my self-hatred. It overcomes darkness and is as reliable as his rainbow.

Truth: Every so often I think I’m the worst person alive and I struggle to love myself.

Truth: I am loved. Fiercely. What if I loved myself as fiercely as God does?

14 thoughts on “Art: Fierce Love

  1. I can understand how you feel. There have been times when I’ve been hard on myself.

    Truth (from where I stand): You’re fiercely talented. And pretty dang awesome.

    Thank you for sharing so openly about the struggle. Everyday can’t be sunshine and rainbows.

    Like

Leave a Reply

