Art: What I say and don’t say

What I Say and Don’t Say – Doors are okay but one day they will all be open
What I Say and Don’t Say – Doors are okay but one day they will all be open

17th March 2016, Prismacolor pencils on A3 cartridge paper

These three doors represent what I say and don’t say.

The green door represents the things I’m okay to talk about. It’s a wide open door and anyone is welcome.

The blue door represents the things I will talk about if someone asks me. All they have to do is knock and I will be glad to open up.

The purple door represents the things I’m not ready to talk about yet. It’s a locked door even when people knock because I don’t feel safe to share.

Depending on the topic, my mood, and who I’m with, the doors may change.

I used to feel guilty about the doors, but a counsellor friend suggested that it’s okay to have boundaries and safety is important. With time and with trust, doors will open.

One day, when all things are restored, we all be safe and all our doors will be open.

Leave a Reply

