Book Review: The Art of Work by Jeff Goins

My summary:

The Art of Work is a book that will help you find your calling and give you the inspiration to live it.

Through sharing many personal stories and stories of ordinary people living their calling, Jeff argues that a calling isn’t simply one thing that we’re meant to do in a life. It isn’t simply a career. It’s about who we are and, therefore, it’s about what we do with our whole lives.

A calling is also bigger than us. It’s about what it can give to others. There are many things we are meant to do and it doesn’t just include the paid work we do. It includes using all our gifts, the relationships we make, and leaving a legacy.

My reactions:

I really enjoyed this book. It was quick and easy to read and came at a helpful time for me. I could relate to many of the things Jeff wrote about. I could see how life was already telling me what direction to go in and how everything has been preparing me for the next step. I learnt that my job is to take the opportunities when they come and make the most of them even if they don’t look like an opportunity I want or have the ability to do.

I love the idea of leaving a legacy through the sum of our lives and not just through a single act or job. And I love the idea of the portfolio life where we can live meaningfully in all areas of life and not just in our paid work. It is a full and abundant life!

My recommendation:

If you want to know what your calling is and how to live it, read this book. If you want to live a meaningful life and leave a legacy, this book is for you.

*Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

