Book Review: Scary Close by Donald Miller

My summary:

Don shares the journey of how he learnt to stop impressing people and start connecting with them instead by being honest. He looks at how we can’t love people or be close with them if we can’t be ourselves and if we try to control others out of fear. He writes vulnerably and transparently about himself – his flaws, fears, and failures – and he shows how he went from someone who broke relationships to someone who could marry another. Essentially, this is a book about identity and relationships. He writes with a personal essay style and his honesty and insights have helped me in my own journey.

My reactions:

I always love Don’s writing. It’s so engaging and packed full of insights. His books always teach me something, and this book did the same. I’m going through a similar journey of learning how to be real, and I really appreciated Don’s honesty in sharing his own journey. The book was very confronting and challenging in a very good way. It was like sitting with a therapist and after I read a chapter, I would write down my thoughts and work through some issues that the chapter spoke to me about.

Because Don was so honest about who he is and his journey, I feel like I can be honest about who I am and my own journey. His book is teaching me how to face reality, how to be honest, and how to be myself. It was a must read for me, and I’m so thankful for this book. It’s given me a lot to think about and a lot to try to apply in my life.

My recommendation:

If you feel fake, read it. If you feel like your relationships aren’t the way they should be, read it. If you’ve got questions about identity and relationships, read it. Everyone, read it.

My rating: ★★★★ (and a half)

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

