Book Review: Fifty Shades of They by Ed Young

Why I read it:

I received an email from someone who had read a book review I wrote for Scary Close by Donald Miller. They was asked if I would be interested in being sent a free book, Fifty Shades of They by Ed Young, in exchange for a review. Of course! I was so excited to be asked and to be given a new book to read.

My summary:

This is a book about relationships. It’s about finding the right people in our lives who are good for us, and it’s about being the right person so we can give good things to others. Ed Young shares fifty insights about what the right people—the right ‘they’—look like. He shares personal stories, bible stories, and lessons learnt to communicate truths that will help any relationship. The fifty bite-sized insights are simple, relatable, challenging, and thought-provoking.

My reactions:

I enjoyed the structure of this book with fifty short pieces of advice for better relationships. It was a quick and easy read, but I found the gimmicky writing style a struggle. I can see how the advertising-style language of neat categories and word-play helps make the principles more memorable and understandable, though.

Aside from the writing style, I could engage with the ideas and there were lots of useful tips. What I loved most about the book were the personal stories and the challenging truths that I would like to apply in my own life. More than helping me look for the right ‘they’ in my life, I found this book showed me how I want to be right ‘they’ in my relationships.

My recommendation:

I think this book would be especially helpful for teenagers as they navigate school and peer pressure. I can also see it being a good study book for a group of people wanting to explore relationships in their lives. If you want to improve your relationships and are intentional about applying what you read, this would be a good book to read.

Leave a Reply

