Art: Replay

Replay – When you can’t stop replaying things over and over in your head
Replay – When you can’t stop replaying things over and over in your head

15th May 2016, Prismacolor on A3 cartridge paper

After two days and two drawings, I still couldn’t stop replaying the bad thoughts going through my head. I still couldn’t move past the emotion and I couldn’t function. So I drew exactly what I was going through. It’s a picture of my mind at this time.

I started with the bottom line. I kept rewinding, playing, pausing, then rewinding, etc. etc. Over and over again. Then I turned it into a remote control. The plus and minus signs represent volume where I would turn up the volume of those unhelpful and untrue thoughts.

The record button represents the recorded track playing in my head. The stop button represents how I just wanted the recording to stop. There is a second rewind button because the rewinding and replaying is what I was doing most. The on/off button represents how I wanted to turn off the recording.

Leave a Reply

