Book Review: The Grand Paradox by Ken Wytsma

My summary:

This is a book about faith and what it looks like in the mess of the world as we follow a God who is mysterious. It explores many aspects of the Christian life such as church, prayer, doubt, social justice, calling, culture, and trials.

It’s a book that encourages trust in and obedience to God, always loving and working to make things right as we live in this time in between the two gardens of Eden and the New Creation. We are in Gethsemane where there is pain and suffering but we can have full life and happiness as we walk by faith knowing God is always with us even if he seems distant.

My reactions: 

I’m glad I read this book. It gave me a lot to think about, gave me lots of insights, spoke into my life where it’s at right now and helped me move forward in some areas. I love the honesty and wisdom of Wytsma and the way he brings his research, stories, and quotes together to make an interesting, thought-provoking, and powerful read.

The concepts in this book would have helped me back when I was a new Christian since I had a skewed idea of what the life of faith looked like. There are a lot more trials and pain involved in the journey but they aren’t a reason to give up, lose hope and stop. They are a reason to keep going, keep trusting, keep loving, keep being transformed, and keep walking by faith.

When I go through hard times, this book reassures me that it’s all okay, that it’s all part of the journey and to keep going.

My recommendation:

If you’re looking for an easy to understand theology about faith that applies to the everyday Christian walk, this is a great book.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookLook Bloggers book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

